Some people say it is better to keep your home and your workplace tidy, with everything organised and in the correct place. What is your opinion about this ?

Cleanliness and organization were a big part of human civilizations since ancient times. In modern era, some people say that it is very necessary to keep your home and your workplace tidy and organised. In my opinion, organization helps to keep one’s mind in order and provide mental peace.

Studies show that keeping everything at a certain place helps the mind get organised. Working professionals tend to have a preferred location for everything on their desk. This enables them to stay focused on one thing and avoid distractions. Moreover, it provides easy accessibility to everything around them with less effort in finding things. For example, keeping keys and wallet at a certain place makes it less likely for you to forget them when leaving your house.

Furthermore, tidiness helps keep the mind calm. The rise in popularity of satisfying videos where people organize things or neatly perform some actions shows that people enjoy watching this type of content. Cleanliness releases dopamine also known as “feel-good hormone” which helps in calming your brain and increases mental performance. After a long day of work, coming back to an organised house gives a sense of satisfaction and happiness. This greatly affects mood and overall mental health.

Although it is tough to keep home or workplace tidy due to a very busy and fast paced world around us, investing time in organization of your daily surroundings in my opinion is better for your mental and emotional wellbeing. Thus, I believe that it is important to keep everything organised.