Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

The debate surrounding patriotism’s impact on society continues to generate significant discussion in modern discourse. While some view it as problematic behavior, I firmly believe that patriotism benefits society and significantly outweighs any potential drawbacks.

The main advantage of patriotism is that it can increase national income. When society has a greater sense of nationalism, they tend to buy domestic goods from local producers, resulting in higher demands of local products and raising national revenue. This is demonstrated by Japanese people who have the most national pride in North Asia, they support 40% of state revenue by buying domestic products alone. Moreover, patriotism can promote local products globally. Due to the strong sense of belonging that citizens have, they will likely endorse country-made products internationally through social media or cultural exchanges. For instance, Taylor Swan, a renowned singer also Nordic citizens, boost the national revenue because she promotes traditional blanket through her interviews on TV.

Those opposed to this say that patriotism triggers radical behavior that often causes problems to society such as vandalism. However, this rarely happens and is already prevented by stricter regulations in numerous countries. For example, Denmark suppresses the radical and vandalism rate to 13% by categorizing that as serious violation and the offender can be sentenced for 10 years. Furthermore, the International Law Committee has enforced a new policy that imposes a minimum 7-year prison sentence on those committing radical acts.

To conclude, while patriotism can cause radical actions, the fact that patriotism benefits the country’s economy through purchasing and promoting local products clearly outweigh its disadvantages.