Some people say social media makes us more connected, others argue it makes us more isolated.

Social media has been widely used by all kinds of people around the world. It has allowed people to communicate or meet even from a distance. However, even though people can feel more connected, they can be more lonely.

Before the appearance of social media, it used to be quite difficult to get in contact or have information from friends and family. With the different social media that has been available on the internet, people can post images or show their experiences. Even if their families live thousands of kilometers away they can have access to these data and feel closer to them. This shows that social media can be helpful in this connected world. Also, people can share their lives easily.

Although, sharing the experience can be seen as good, people should avoid posting too much because showing everything about someone’s life can cause anxiety, comparison and fear of missing out. These feelings lead some people to feel apart from the good moments of society making them lonely and less interesting than others. In order to avoid these bad results, social media should be regulated by the government, forcing people to reduce their daily use. Also, another action that could reduce this kind of problem is that parents should control the use of the internet from their kids.

In conclusion, social media can be a good tool to make people feel closer even if they are physically distant. However, overuse of social media can cause some side effects like loneliness. Some regulation and parent control can are good ways to reduce this kind of problem.