Some people say social media makes us more connected, others argue it makes us more isolated.

Social media platforms have taken over the internet and people’s lives today. Some people think they have brought people closer while others believe they have made people more alone actually. Perhaps, they do have their own advantages and disadvantages however I agree with the statement that they have made people more connected.

The reason why some people feel they have made humans more distant is because they have cut down the time we spend with our friends and family in person. They have created distances in relationships as people even at home are always on their phones rather than spending time with family. For example, children nowadays spend more time scrolling instagram than participating in conversations and activities with their parents. Another example is how we don’t know what our colleagues have going on in their lives but we do know which celebrity is getting married through social media.

In contrast, they also have brought humans closer and made the world more connected. I’m more inclined towards this view point as not only it allows us to interact with friends and family online, It also allows us to see whats happening on the other side of the world. For example, during the recent India-Pakistan conflict, people got many updates through social media. I believe in today’s busy world, Social media has made it easy to know daily life updates of people you care about. So many people even find their soul mates through social media. For example, social media and dating apps like Muzz help people finding their partners.

To conclude, I believe social media has its pros and cons but it has definitely made the world more connected. Some people have become more avoidant due to social media, but it really depends upon how a person uses social media.