Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, commercial advertisements have dominated a variety of television channels, newspapers, and websites. While many people believe that this trend promotes unnecessary consumption of goods, I am convinced that it can enhance our living standards.

On the one hand, advertisements can encourage people to purchase many inessential products. In order to meet the sales targets, many conglomerates exaggerate the usefulness of the small features of their products, along with misleading information, catchy music and many appealing images, which can persuade more customers to buy. This is a reason for disappointment among people when they receive the actual products. Furthermore, in Viet Nam, some companies have hired famous celebrities such as Son Tung MTP, to endorse their products so as to attract potential customers who are fans of these people, which can eventually lead to the impulse purchase among consumers.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that advertisements can also provide understanding about new items in the public. From online and offline advertisements, consumers are provided with useful information that helps them to choose the most suitable product for their daily life. This specifically supports them to fulfil their demands and needs and also improves their life quality. For instance, we can gain more knowledge about medicine and treatments through many medical advertisements, which can be beneficial to our health.

In conclusion, while advertisements can encourage unnecessary consumption, I strongly believe that it can introduce us many valuable information about the products that can enhance our lives.