Some people say that artists such as painters, writers and musicians affect our lives more than scientists. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that people of art, such as painters, writers and musicians, have a deeper impact on our lives than do scientists. I do agree that some artists can have an immense influence on people’s lives; however, I believe that overall the effects of scientific discoveries are far greater.

Without doubt, some outstanding artists have a profound impact on our minds. An artist can provide a visual insight for later generations into the troubles of his time by creating a quality painting. Alternatively, a professional writer could

impart a message through a novel that would be published in millions of copies and consequently reach a massive readership. Similarly, the lyrics of a particular song might subconsciously influence the listeners’ mindsets. For instance, Michael Jackson’s Earth Song was clearly intended to raise global awareness of the dire consequences of deforestation and poaching. Given the fact that the singer had millions of fans, the song was massively influential.

When balanced against major scientific inventions, however, works of art would pale in comparison. This is due to the fact that scientific research leads to numerous innovations which ultimately change the way we live. Owing to computer technology, for example, we now have instant access to an unlimited number of sources of information at the push of a button, whereas in the past people had to visit libraries or purchase books. A further telling example is the GPS system, which can help a driver find his way in an unfamiliar setting or assist a person in locating the precise whereabouts of a place he has never been before.

In conclusion, I accept that certain artists can have a lasting effect on the hearts and minds of people. Yet it is my belief that on balance scientific contributions have entirely transformed our lives.