Some people say that artists such as painters, writers and musicians affect our lives more than scientists. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art and science are two essential things with the ability to shape and change lives. However, some people believe that artists are far more influential than scientists. In my view, this belief greatly undermines the role that scientists play in life, which is as important as that of artists.

Painters, writers and musicians are often characterized by astounding creativity and talent that attract the admiration of others. In contrast, scientists are the epitome of intelligence and cleverness, two traits that should make them just as worthy of being admired. And while art satisfies the parts of the human self that aspire for beauty and harmony, science is what deciphers the unknown, affecting lives in far more tangible ways. Because of science, our world witnessed countless life-saving discoveries such as antibiotics and modern drugs. If such scientific feats had not existed, the health and well-being of people would have been impacted as a result.

Moreover, the effect of science even extends to art, so that artists themselves rely on science to create mesmerizing masterpieces. For example, the production of music would not be possible without an understanding of the physics of sound, and writing was made easier when pen and paper were replaced with typewriters and computers, two devices invented by scientists. Therefore, without science, artists would consequently struggle to express themselves, and the public would suffer not only from the loss of science, but also from the lack of art.

A number of people argue that science does not affect life in the same manner with which art does, omitting the pivotal role that science plays in the survival and well-being of our species. Therefore, science and art must be regarded as being equally essential for our lives.