Some people say that more money should be invested in science than in other fields. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate whether science should be funded more in comparison to other areas. In my opinion, it is important to keep the investments equal.

Many find it of extreme importance for innovation related spheres to be well-funded. This perspective often stems from the fact that technology and medicine have historically established themselves as the main driving forces behind the development of our civilization. However I believe that today it is not the case, since the foreseeable future technologies are to have little to no positive effect on an average person’s life. For instance, a notable invention of the past – the printing press, has had an enormous impact on the world, as countless people have received access to literature. On the flip side – the quantum machine, which is predicted to be created in the near future, while sounds ambitious, is unlikely to majorly benefit individuals’ lives.

On the other hand, the lack of development of fields other than science is becoming more evident around the world. Indeed, in many places while technological progress is usually on an acceptable level, there is still a lot left to be desired in terms of social infrastructure and economics. Therefore, investments should specifically focus on these, as that would improve human lives the most. Research conducted by the University of Dusseldorf revealed that the index of social infrastructure and healthcare is much lower in third world countries than that in developed ones, yet technological progress is usually not too far behind.

In conclusion, I find it the most rational to instead of dedicating all of the investments into science, equalize the funding of all areas, specifically focusing on those currently lacking, since it would show the most benefits both in the short and long term.