Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been argued that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. This essay will agree with this statement and give reasons music can help to bond people regardless of where and how they live or how old they are.

Music is like a language that everyone understands, even if they do not speak the same words. Whether it is a classical piece or pop genre, the feelings it brings are something everyone can share. This shared feeling helps people to connect, breaking down the barriers between different cultures and ages. This is why when a certain tune or music is played, human beings respond to it regardless of what part of the world they are from, or what age group they belong to. For example, afro beat which is a relatively young genre, resonates with young and old alike in Africa and Europe regardless of the fact that the tune itself is of Nigerian origin. When people hear a tune they love, they don’t care where it is from, they dance to it, and if they can, they try to sing along.

Furthermore, music also helps to keep traditions alive by passing them down through the generations. Older folks can share their stories, heritage, and wisdom through music, creating a link between the past and the present. A lot of people in the west agree that when they listen to classical music, they hear a lot of wisdom. Other give the same feedback when they listen to hymn. In Africa, a lot of history used to be passed down from generation to generation using story telling that was mixed with music. This was effective in preserving history since the brain finds it easy to retain that which it encodes through music.

From the foregoing, we can see that music plays a universal role is bridging the gap between the old and the young, and also serves as a foundational “glue” that bonds people of diverse backgrounds together.