Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I believe music brings all kinds of people together irrespective of their age, culture or religion. Music is a way of communication and expressing emotions melodically.

Today, the music industry is one of the most prevalent, widely celebrated and preferred source of entertainment. Music prompts individuals to dance to rhythmic patterns, evokes tears through songs that convey emotions beyond mere words, and offers solace during challenging moments.

While today’s generation prefers to listen to songs like pop and raps, the older generation was inclined to a tad bit slower music such as jazz, ghazals. One of the upcoming trends in music is remaking of older songs. This includes using old songs into newer ones by adding poppy beats into songs and a chorus for relating to the newer generations. Such songs are bringing different ages together.

Music needs no language to enjoy. It’s the rhythm behind the song one enjoys, the beats, the feelings such music awards. Thanks to new applications like Spotify that connect people and their music all over the world gives access to people to try out music of different cultures, often surprising them as to how much they like it. For example, until a few years ago, Korean songs (K-Pop) were not as famous as they are today in India. Today, India accounts for the highest k-pop listeners in the world. This is connecting people all over the world over their love for music.

Hence, I do agree music brings together people from different age groups, different ethnicity and cultures. New cultures are being embraced by people all over the world.