Some people say that now is the best time in history to be living. What is your opinion about this? What other time in history would be interesting ti live in?

Many believe that it is best to be born in the current era. I completely agree with this sentiment due to advancements in healthcare, and I think the most intriguing time to live in would be the prehistoric period.

This century has experienced the biggest advancements in medical care compared to the rest of human history. Increasingly effective medications, the production of vaccines, and eradication of deadly diseases has led to an increase in lifespan and a reduction in mortality. For instance, the creation of the polio vaccine. Polio proved to be a devastating illness, leaving many patients reliant on iron lungs to survive, crippling them and making their lives extremely difficult. However, due to the discovery of the vaccine, this infection has been completely eradicated. Improvements like this are why I think now is the best time to be alive.

That does not mean that I wouldn’t like to experience a different time in history. I have been fascinated by the prehistoric period since childhood; seeing dinosaurs and ancient creatures would bring great joy and make me awe-struck. Many theories can be proved or disproved, as well as a plethora of discoveries to be made. For example, new animals and plants that may have not been known, or new materials that could have a multitude of uses.

In conclusion, I agree that this is the best time to be alive due to better healthcare and reduced mortality, and that the most interesting time in history to live in would be the prehistoric era because of the potential to make new discoveries.