Some people say that only animals that are useful to humans should be protected. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It a common belief that not only useful animals should have preservations, but also the others. However, I firmly believe that we ought to protect only beneficial species because of the limited resources and a number of endangered animals.

On the on hand, some people believe that we should protect all the animals surviving in the earth because of the moral values and our biodiversity. Turning to ethical values, all the living organisms have the right to survive and it is the basic law we all recognise. To be more specific, we do not mind killing some animals that have no merit to us and observe them as no existence in our lives. Aside from that, if we only focus on preserving the useful animals, we will break the balance biodiversity we built for centuries. The useless ones give us no advantages can provide others, which we observe as the useful their need to live. So their reductions of population can lead to lots of problems. For example, some insects cause the harm to our crop are the food of some rare birds, which we spend so much money to protect.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that we should protect only animals that are beneficial to us. Firstly, it due to the limited resources which only get from donations of local people and government’s budget. Our government have to divide their money to lots of fields such as economic, industry and services, so the budget remained for protection is really small. It results in the fact that we should only protect the useful species that provide us benefits for our food, medicine, economy, etc, not all of them. Aside from that, the others that not have merits to humans have no care from our residents, leads to the fact that almost their individuals are huge, different from the useful species. So spending money to protect them seems like not effective. For instance, some endangered animals like tigers or elephants have been hunted to get some body parts of them, so the number of them are survived in nature are really small.

In addition, in spite of some thoughts that we need to protect all the animals, in my perspective, we only need to preserve the useful ones due to our limited resources and their populations.