Some people say that playing computer is bad for children in every aspect. Others say playing computer can have positive effects on the way children develop.discuss both options and give your opinion.

There is a hot debate over what effects may be for children in playing computer games. Some people think such electronic games are undoubtedly causing extreme anti-social behavior, especially the violent games. However, others find that computer games can actually have many benefits. In my opinion, the merits of allowing the younger to play games can outweigh the potential demerits.

To be honest, there is no account that we can overlook the potential drawbacks in playing computer games. Firstly, many electronic activities are quite violent, which can affect children in several ways. Those who play more violent games are even more likely to have increased aggressive thoughts or behaviors. Meanwhile, excess of playing computer games make children socially isolated since they may spend less time in other activities and even interacting with family or friends. Also, computer games may doom health problem, including obesity, computer-induced seizures etc. Lastly, Children, who are usually less disciplined than adults, are in turn tended to sacrifice homework instead, spending much more time on the computer or console. In addition, children are going to get decreased academic performance as they are continually addicted to games.

Compared to the above arguments, others have an opposite opinion, numerous benefits on the way children develop. An argument hold by this cluster is that playing computer games can improve attention and concentration particularly for action games, which are able to capture player’s attention since certain objectives within the game need to be achieved. Further, playing games can also enhance multitasking skills. To take strategy games for example, this requires players to be very observant and flexible to frequently change tactics. In terms of teamwork games, this help children develop their intelligence and teamwork mentality by involving cooperation with other online players and individual contribution in order to progress different level of a game, the sequences of which enable children to build confidence and problem-solving skills.

In conclusion, while playing computer games seem to be a double-edged sword for children, I am convinced that this activity is instrumental in its contribution to children’s growth and development as long as they can limit the time spending on it.