Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education has always been of great importance in every nation. Undoubtedly, formal schooling and teaching curriculum are a topic of interest to the public. While many people argue that teaching academic subjects should be primarily focused at schools, some hold that non-academic subjects, such as music and sports, also deserve to be taught. I am in favor of the former.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that academic subjects can significantly benefit students. Teaching such subjects as math, physics, and chemistry would be helpful for students because the job market is frequently in need of skillful employees in these fields. Therefore, students are more likely to secure high-paying jobs and better their lives. On the societal level, a well-qualified workforce, such as in manufacturing and business, will be a key determinant of economic thrive. This may lead to the nation’s comprehensive growth in terms of economy and social well-being.

On the other hand, I contend that the inclusion of arts-related subjects in the school curriculum has positive impacts on students. Teaching these subjects would offer those who are endowed with arts a chance to enrich their knowledge and honing their skills at school, which may lead to further career prospects. Moreover, disciplines pertaining to arts would boost students’ creativity as well as improve their mental health and physical health. For example, upon attending an outdoor arts class, students, along with their friends, could go around observing the place to look for novel ideas together. This not only stimulates students’ knowledge of arts, enhances physical development but also facilitates students’ social skills with their peers.

In conclusion, while academic subjects are traditionally argued to hold more importance, I strongly believe that teaching subjects such as music and sports would provide students substantial benefits.