Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough, and that other measures are needed.

It is often believed that regulation which prohibit smoking in public area will discourage smoking, while others view that it will be useless. Despite arguments against, I believe that regulation about smoking in public area will be more successful in discouraging smoking habit.

On the one hand, many people believe that it easier to discourage smoking by making that kind of regulation and I agree. The most obvious reason is that smoker will get fear of smoking. This might be because there is an instant punishment, then they will get big loss due to the fine payment. Another reason is that smoker will be difficult to find smoking place. Therefore, in the long term, they are getting used to, and find new habit instead of smoking. For example, they will consume sweet candy to substitute cigarettes.

On the other hand, others view that limitation of smoking in public space is not enough to reduce smoking habit. Most of smokers has addicted to nicotine, so they tend to break the rules. It means that they prefer to pay the fine instead of not smoking at the time. Another reason is this regulation will just increase stress to the smokers because they cannot consume the nicotine at the moment. The smoker needs additional tools to help them stop the smoking habit.

In conclusion, although people have varying views, I believe that government should start the limitation of smoking in public areas because it can change the smoking habit gradually. Even though the benefit of this decision will be not happened in the short term, at least we have already begun the effort.