Some people say that the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal in public places. Other people say that this is not enough, and that other measures are needed.

It is argued that prohibiting smoking from public places can lead to less consumption. At the same time, other people believe that this action is not enough and there must be further solutions to the problem. In this essay, I will discuss both views and state why I think there is more to be done in order to make people not smoke.

Firstly, One of the arguments is to impose strict rules on smoking in public places is the health benefits it offers because this will significantly reduce exposure to secondhand smoke, which is harmful to non-smokers. For instance, on a scientific survey it has proved that instead of smokers, non-smokers who are near smokers are in danger of getting lung cancer and heart diseases as much as smokers. Furthermore, prohibiting smoking in public places puts social pressure on people who smoke and this can lead to a mental statement that discourages individuals who are addicted to cigarettes.

On the other hand, there should be other ways to tackle this problem which are related to the government’s actions. Therefore, authorities must increase taxes on tobacco products, which help can make smoking more expensive and less attractive, especially to younger people. In addition, governers should restrict adverts that are related to smoking to prevent people from using it. For example, people from a district that are exposed to billboards from cigarette companies on highways, have more potential to become addicted than people who don’t.

In conclusion, prohibiting people from smoking in public can have some effects on people’s behavior on doing this habit, but this action will not be enough to eliminate this problem. Subsequently, further solutions are needed from the governmenet to address this challenge.