Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that people do not need the improvements of product sales, which is the main purpose of advertising. Although I think that advertising serves to attract people and improve sales, I do not agree that society does not need advertisements.

There are a few reasons why I believe that advertising is beneficial for both, individuals and companies. For one, advertisement increases the popularity of certain goods, leading to more demand for specific product and receiving more profit. Secondly, society will have an access to a new category of items, for example, perfume, handbags, and other commodities. And thirdly, advertising companies will be able provide more job places for people. This is why advertising can be considered as profitable and provides more choices for costumers.

On the other hand, advertising is not always about positivity. To be specific, even with creative and attractive advertisement some companies cannot impact consumers because their product itself, may not be useful and affordable. For example, car industries do not spend much budget on advertisements because they know that most people cannot afford cars. On top of that, if product is defected or broken, individuals will not pay for it, but will ask for refunds. Thus, advertising is used mostly by well-known corporations with high quality goods to attract more people.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising is crucial for companies that already have a good reputation and try to expand even more, allowing society to get more options and become more lucrative.