Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need.

Some people indicate that the purpose of making an advertisement is to encourage consumers to buy products that they do not really need. I firmly disagree with this opinion, since advertising activities go beyond the benefits of that.

The first rationale for my disagreement is that many brands do advertise to promote their new products. In fact, an advertisement is a kind of announcement for brands to let buyers know about their upcoming products, and they want to introduce new features, functions, or even modern technology that are implemented in these products. For example, Apple usually has a new version of its iPhone line every year, so advertisements for the new line are usually published.

A further reason to explain why I disagree with this opinion is that advertisements are the way that can make consumers remember these brands. In particular, many companies usually launch advertisements to promote their brands. Through these activities, people can have an image when someone mentions these brands to them, such as the logo, slogan, or even signature colors. For instance, when someone asks other people what they know about Vietcombank, they can answer quickly that this bank has a green logo with a triangle in the middle, due to the advertisements of this bank on social media and articles.

However, I concede that many companies use advertising activities to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. This is because these products do not have a unique function or do not bring valuation for the users, so the buyers do not prefer choosing them. Therefore, these brands conduct advertisements with famous people, such as KOLs, KOCs, or singers who have a lot of fans, in order to appeal to them to buy products. Fans usually tend to buy items that their favorites talk about, although they do not have a demand for these things. Many surveys were conducted to calculate the proportion of fans buying unnecessary things, and the results received were considerable.

In conclusion, although there are some mixed opinions on determining whether the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products, I believe that advertisements bring more benefits for both companies and the whole society.