Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

Whilst the utilization and development of the internet increased dramatically, I believe the government should limit harmful content which can cause huge chaos into the society and can make most of the people uncomfortable, or even damage human’s emotional state.

First of all, posts about the certain topic, such as political decisions, contain power to damage society. For this reason, the government should restrict content that could cause chaos amongst people. This is because, uncensored news could create social movements which put risks into people’s lives, while one of the most essential job of the government is protecting people. Therefore, as a leader of the nation, government should eliminate the reasons of the chaotic society.

Second of all, there are plenty of sensitive content on the social platforms which make people uneasy. Although individuals can choose what they want to consume from the social platforms, no one can control a hundred percent of the content that appear on their social accounts. For example, the video of stabbing a person for twenty times in a row is very hard to watch for many people, and it could even harm one’s mental health, such as creating a trauma. While people would not stop uploading hazardous content on the internet, government has to restrict those content in order to protect people.

In conclusion, billions of people around the world are using the internet to exchange the information and updates. Hence, government need to decide whether certain information should exist on the internet, censoring the content that cause a danger to public and the content that could damage one’s mental health.