Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites.

Internet was founded by altruist and optimist philanthropists. They imagined this new media as a magical tool for humanity. But things changed profoundly immediately after.

Now it’s easy to find every kind of materials, that may have fatal side effects, such as weed, cocaine, heroin, and drugs using for psychological treatments. The addiction caused by these drugs is not the only thing we should consider. There are also very harmful content such as porn and cruelty. It’s very easy to reach sexual content that may damage young people’s relationship perception. This may have long term effects on people’s life. Because of the life illustrated in porn films, men tend to believe that to satisfy a woman they should possess huge penises and perfect bodies. This thoughts lower their self-esteem and as a result of this they can’t have strong relationships. The social media, where the only thing could be seen is perfect bodies, flawless beauties and make-up, also don’t help especially children and adolescents.

What we have to do then? Giving so much permission to goverment won’t result as we predicted. If we let them censor and control the content on the internet, the goverment will try to expand this censorship. The bureaucrats will use this huge power for their will and ban whatever they don’t like. It’s not a good idea to create tyrannes in a society. Educating our children is far better option than creating an evil as a ruler. Families should be at the center of this education.