Some people say that to solve today global problem every nation should have a good relationship with other nation to what extent do you agree with statement?

Certain individuals say that solving a global problem in today’s time requires every country to be in good faith and have mutual relationships with each other. I believe that this is the case as history has demonstrated that global challenges can only be resolved with good faith between all nations.

Maintaining good relations between countries can result in ease of collaboration, needed to solve a worldwide problem. The collaborative effort of all the nations in the world can result in an abundance of resources which can be used to solve almost any problem. This is evidently shown in 1987 when the United Nations launched the Montreal Protocol, a measure used to tackle the global fear of ozone depletion. Interestingly, this is the first and only UN treaty to be signed by every single country in the world, resulting in a significant 99% reduction of Ozone Depleting Substances(ODS) which heavily slowed down the destruction of the ozone layer. The collaborative effort from all countries showed that with 100% collaboration, a global problem can be tackled.

Conversely, one might argue that good relations are slow to build and are not efficient when tackling a global problem. This is important as by the time “good relations” have been built, the global problem might have already killed all humans. A good example for this argument would be during the COVID pandemic, where countries still did not have good relations with each other (like China and Brazil), but were forced to collaborate mechanically to create a vaccine for the virus to prevent it from escalating. However, this claim remains shallow as mechanical collaboration without good faith only addresses the immediate problem, without also addressing the problems that come with bad faith, meaning that even if the countries solve the problem at hand, they might create a bigger global problem due to bad relations. In COVID, although China and the USA collaborated to make a vaccine, their vaccines were unequally distributed due to vaccine nationalism and racism.

In conclusion, having good relations between countries is mandatory to solve a global problem. Not only does this solve the immediate problem at hand, it also prevents future problems caused by bad relations.