Some people say the fashion industry is bad for the environment, as it encourages consumers to buy new clothes all the time. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that fashion market instigates negative environmental consequences, as consumers are always prompted to make purchases of new items. While there are environmentally-friendly fashion businesses on the market, I believe the vast majority of clothing brands indeed contribute to the environmental degradation due to their price availability and means of production.

On the one hand, the emergence of more eco-friendly fashion industries can be instrumental in reconceptualizing an approach to producing garments in the global market. Promoting environmentally-friendly fashion lines might encourage existing and new brands to manufacture organically-made garments, practice fair labour, and promote safe work conditions. It can serve as a catalyst for bringing awareness to the society, leading to an informed and conscious shopping behavior.

However, the rise of the fast-fashion industries on a global scale brings environmentally-harmful aftermath along. Given the financial affordability and abundant supply of mass-produced garments, it is no surprise that the majority would opt for purchasing those items, creating more demand for such businesses and therefore, contributing to environmental and climate challenges further. For instance, fast-fashion industries are notorious for resorting to cheap labour through exploitation practices of workers from underdeveloped countries that operate under unsustainable conditions. These factors exacerbate ecosystem and labour policies challenges, making a preponderance of fashion industry rather harmful to the environment.

In conclusion, some argue that the clothes industry precipitates the environment into a critical state by promoting excessive shopping behaviors in people. As most fashion brands capitalize on unethical labour activities and utilization of non-degradable materials, it is evident that such businesses ignite already existing ecosystem issues, making it more harmful than beneficial to the globe.