Some people thick that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true functions of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What , in your opinion, should be the main function of a university

There has always been controversy over what skills schools should cultivate in students. Some insist that schools should teach students employment skills, while others support schools helping students acquire knowledge that enhances personal value rather than meeting workplace needs. I believe that the role of schools is not only to provide office skills, but also to ensure the richness of personal life for the overall development of students in the future.

One of the main goals of universities is to equip students with the skills and knowledge cating for the industry. By combining courses with the demands of the job market, schools enable graduates to prepare adequately in advance for entering the workforce. It is undeniable that many graduates are facing the dilemma of not being able to find a job, so employers are stricter in screening candidates who have both theoretical knowledge and practical skills. To increase their job opportunities, universities need to cultivate their relevant professional skills and work experience.

However, schools should not only cultivate useful talents for employers, but also cultivate individuals’ ability to actively learn and improve their personal qualities. After all, in addition to work and life, students can find their interests through extracurricular activities organized by schools throughout their lives. For example, art festivals held by schools can not only help students discover their singing or dancing skills, but also help people gain more meaning in life. More importantly, learning and competing together among students can also cultivate their teamwork and social skills, which are crucial for their future career and life.

In short, the function of schools should not be limited to meeting the needs of employers to cultivate students’ employment ability, and personal life skills are equally important.