Some people think advertisements may have positive economic effects, whereas others think there are negative social effects because individuals are not satisfied with who they are and what they are.Discuss both views

It is obvious that while advertisements may bring about commercial benefits, some people believe that it can potentially cause dissatisfaction physically and mentally in individuals who come across those perfectly altered images. In my opinion, the former and the latter are both true.

On the one hand, the fact that advertising generates economic opportunities is undeniable. Firstly, such campaigns would boost the sales of the goods through enhancing public engagement and brand recognition. This is because once these brands and their products reach a certain level of popularity, they will have access to a wider range of consumers, attracting them to make purchases. Moreover, advertisements make the product stand out from its competitor, giving the company a competitive edge. In the era of innovation and creativity, businesses have to constantly renew themselves to maintain loyal clients and appeal to more customers. For example, when launching a new foundation line, Rom&nd invested in their marketing strategies, emphasizing its unique features such as a variety of skin tone choices or a glowy finish, which are considered innovative compared to other brand names.

On the other hand, filtered images and information created by advertisements may cause people to set false expectations, resulting in disappointment and dissatisfaction. Take, for instance, the consumption of certain types of products which are falsely advertised to help lose weight in a short period of time. Such misleading information can cause distress among those who take the drugs and fail to enhance their fitness level, leading to self doubt. Additionally, advertisements may result in negative body image, anxiety and depression in some cases. To illustrate, some cosmetic products are promoted in an unrealistic way, giving people the impression that such beauty can be achieved just by using them instead of plastic surgery. As a result, individuals are prompted to constantly compare themselves with those perfect images of celebrities who use those products, which can lead to dissatisfaction of one’s appearance and further drive depression.

In conclusion, it is true that while advertisements can be commercially beneficial, its repercussions on society should also be taken seriously.