Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The best approach to deal with lawbreakers is a subject that requires ongoing discussion. Some contend that to maintain law and order and discourage crime, all offenders should to be put to jail. Others, on the other hand, think that certain forms of punishment—such as community service or educational initiatives may be more advantageous for people as well as for society. This essay will go over both points of view before offering my personal belief that for some offenders, other strategies can be more successful.

Many people think that all criminals need to be imprisoned to guarantee justice and stop more crimes. Supporters think that jail time keeps dangerous people away from the public, therefore safeguarding civilization. For instance, violent offenders or repeat offenders are quite dangerous; so, prison is required to stop them from causing more damage. Though this strategy could be successful for severe crimes, especially for small offenders, it does not necessarily deal with the underlying reasons for criminal activity.

On the other hand, many believe that not all offenders, especially those guilty of small or nonviolent crimes should be imprisoned. Different forms of punishment, including community service, rehabilitative programs, or job placement, can enable people reconnect to society and lower crime rates. Furthermore, maintaining jails is costly, hence, other approaches might be more affordable while helping the society. I agree with this point of view since rejoining society and rehabilitation should be goals of punishment in addition to a warning.

In conclusion, even if dangerous offenders should be imprisoned, not all lawbreakers will find the best answer in jail. Different penalties can be more successful in changing people and stopping next crimes. A balanced approach should be followed, through which the degree of the offense dictates whether imprisonment or another option is more suitable.