Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

n recent times, opinions are divided on whether all offenders should be thrown to prisons or not. While some might say that it is the optimal way to punish them for their wrongdoings, others claim there are numerous alternatives. This following essay will shed light on both views and present my own opinion towards this debate.

On the one hand, advocates of the theory to put all criminals into the prison point out tremendous benefits. One prime of them is that it can guarantee the absolute security of the residents. As there are no dangerous lawbreakers in the local area, people are allowed to engage in outdoor activities without constant anxiety and alertness of being attacked and harmed by these offenders. Another noteworthy advantage is that by sending criminals to prisons, the government can manage and reform them into good citizens. This can be done by providing these individuals with meals and accommodation that do not meet their own subsistence needs or even with harsh labor. They will act as a reminder of ramifications that they have brought about to the society. In the long run, criminals gradually feel regretful and then make great efforts to develop heathier copying mechanisms of good qualities, thus transforming them into model citizens.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound as it fails to factor minor crimes. Criminals who commit petty crimes should only be given suspended sentence or penalty labor instead of being sent to prisons. This is owing to the fact that these lawbreakers do not cause as great harm to the society as those of serious crimes. For example, rather sending people who contribute to road accidents, the government should only force them to pay satisfactory compensation for the injured and revoke their driving license during a period of time. Additionally, incarcerating lawbreakers with minor crimes may lead to a reduction in the workforce of the society, resulting in the sluggish economy. Alternatively, the government can offer them some tough tasks that have not been done perfectly. If they complete these assignments successfully, the government can diminish the compensation or even cancel it.

All things considered, I assume that only the serious criminals must be sent to prisons. However, with those of petty crimes, the government should not imprison them.