Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about whether all criminals should be imprisoned or other punishments should be applied. This essay will shed light on both views and explain why I support the latter view.

On the one hand, sending lawbreakers to prison could be beneficial for some reasons. Firstly, society would become safer by reducing crime rates. While criminals must serve their sentences, they can lose their freedom and not commit crimes. Therefore, there would be no longer threats to society, and the citizens’ quality of life would be improved. Secondly, people who violate the laws can be educated well in prison. They may be aware of their mistakes and know how important obeying the laws is. Consequently, when criminals can be released from prison, they are less likely to reoffend.

However, I am convinced that there are other effective measures to punish those who violate the laws. With regard to petty crimes such as traffic offenses, shoplifting, the government should fine them with suitable costs or force them to do community service rather than put into prison. Moreover, some poor children who are not equipped with a good education or cannot afford to go to school often do illegal things to earn money. What the government should do is sending those juvenile crimes to the education centers for free. Those children can learn about the laws and