Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The number of crimes happening in society is increasing day by day. There is a debate over the best punishment method for lawbreakers. Some believe that the best method is imprisonment, while others argue that there are more effective methods such as house arrest or fines. However, I believe the second part of the argument, and this essay will explain my standpoint, looking into both sides of the argument.

On one hand, when people are sentenced to imprisonment, they will regret their behavior. The low quality and the hard life of the prison will ensure that no one is willing to come back to the premises. They are made to feel what they have done; however, sometimes, it can be exacerbated even after the punishment. The prisoners will get used to committing crimes during the time as they are always communicating with other criminals while living with them. There are some prisoners who never used drugs in their life, started using drugs and trafficking them during prison time. We have seen prisoners who have been put in prison several times even after they were released, which suggests the ineffectiveness of the given punishment.

On the other hand, people believe other methods of punishment are effective, such as solitary confinement or fines. Even though the punishment is comparatively not as harsh, it can make the criminal think back and understand their misbehavior. Most criminals commit crimes due to the influence of their friends. Therefore, if these connections are effectively monitored and managed, other means of punishment are better than sentencing to imprisonment.

In conclusion, there are both pros and cons to putting criminals in imprisonment. However, I believe that other means of punishment are better for disciplining criminals as they are effective and have less risk of crime escalation compared to imprisonment.