Some people think all lawbreakers should be sent to prison, while others think there are better alternatives for those whose crimes are minor, such as making them do work for the local community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Individuals tend to take different views toward the punishment of minor crimes. Some people adopt the opinion that all individuals taking part in criminal activities should be sent to prison, while others believe that there are other better choices to deal with petty offenders. As far as I am concerned, several factors can stark the contrast between two viewpoints and I am of belief that

On the one hand, it is undeniable that putting all lawbreakers in jail would ensure public safety. If all those who commit crimes serve prison as their punishment, the citizens would feel more secure and peaceful without many dangerous situations such as burglars, thieves, or fraud. This policy would contribute to the civilization and security of a community which are key objectives in developing a country. Moreover, imprisoning all evildoers is a strong deterrence for all individuals tending to rebel against society. When the government imposes this punishment for all levels of offenders, the rate of crime could eventually decrease in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that there are other solutions instead of imprisoning to deal with minor criminals, especially community activities. The prison can be a negative environment for lesser offenders because they can imitate or be impacted by the behaviors of serious crimes. Therefore, instead of incarceration, it would be more beneficial to involve criminals in community work programs where they can contribute positive assistance to the underprivileged. For instance, the authorities in many countries have imposed alternative sentences for low-level criminals, those who commit vandalism, petty theft, traffic crime, and other less illegal crimes, by requesting them to clean streets, talk to school groups or support nursing homes. These community activities will help criminals become useful individuals in their local society which offers more opportunities for rehabilitation.

In conclusion, while applying prison for all lawbreakers could raise the security of society, I believe it is more helpful to ask offenders to join in community work activities as a payback to their local area. This will foster the reintegration of those violating the law and reduce the recidivism of crimes in the future.