Some people think children should start school at a very early stage. To what etent do you agree or disagree

There is an ongoing debate about whether starting school at an early age is beneficial to children. I partly agree with this viewpoint as children can develop their academic skills and explore their interest a longer period. However, I am more convinced that starting school at an early age may have a detrimental effect on young children’s motivation to learn.

Perhaps the most significant benefit of children starting school at an early age is they begin their education earlier, they have more time to discover their strength and weaknesses before making crucial decision about university or career. When school pupils start their studies at an early age, they acquire fundamental knowledge and skills at a younger age, they can analyze their strength and weaknesses a longer period, thereby reaching the stage of choosing university or career, they become more informed to make decision based on their abilities and skills. This is exemplified by my friend, who started school at a young age and had more time to make decisions about his future. Initially, he studied biochemistry, but he later realized that bioscience was more suitable for him and closer to his dream career. Therefore, he was able to change his field of study without wasting many years.

On the other hand, I believe that starting school at a younger age may have a negative psychological impact on children’s motivation to learn. From my perspective, at a young age children need sufficient time to play and social interaction than academic pressure. With entering academic life before they are emotionally and cognitively ready, they may feel more an academic obligation than an enjoyable activity. The implications are not confined to boredom, but also extend to academic and mental fatigue, ultimately leading to a decline in motivation to study. A perfect example of this would be my niece, who started school at a very young age. She initially experienced mental fatigue and gradually lost interest in studying as a result of the academic pressure. Fortunately, her parents encouraged and supported her, and she eventually regained her motivation and caught up with her peers. She is now one of the most active students in her class.

In conclusion, although starting school at an early age bring many benefits such as develop their academic a longer period, it cannot impact on young children’s psychology positively. I strongly believe that school pupils should begin their formal education at an appropriate age, alongside their peers.