Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present.

Many people think that history has little or nothing to offer in the modern days, meanwhile the others believe that the study of the past help us understand the present. Personally, I still believe that it is necessary to learn about historic events in order to know the present.

On one hand, many events in the past have no relevance to modern days. Therefore, they have little or no impact on today’s events. For example, reminding people about wars that were ended in the past lead to increases in conflicts in some countries. It is uneasy to hear about unpleasant occasions that occurred several years ago. As a result, this have bad influence on global collaborations and relationships between nations in the peaceful era. In addition, historical events are not practical in today’s world, such as stories and educational methods in the past. They can not be effectively applied for modern students. Because of generation gap and the differences in view points and practical situations.

On the other hand, undeniably, history is still a helpful tool to address social issues nowadays. It can be observed in many regions in the world, poverty, illiterate, sickness and disability still exist. It is partly because wars in the past, which brought several difficulties that last until present. They make those countries become poorer and face many disadvantages to get over and restore their lands. The governments can take step to deal with those social issues and have appropriate ways to rivive their country at the present and in the near future. Moreover, studying history helps young people understand and cherish the achievement of the previous generations, such as peaceful country and human rights. For instance, VietNamese always remember and are grateful for contributions of their predecessors, who brought their country to its current development, partly thanks to studying history.

Inconclusion, it is significant to get to know about the past to understand the present and continue to develop.