Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present.

Whether learning history is important or not is still controversial, eliciting divergent opinions. Many believe that there is no room to study this field, whereas opponents emphasize that it is entrenched with our current life. I subscribe to the latter view, since learning about our past is significant.

Proponents of not to focusing on past events cite various reasons to support their stance. When it does not approach critically, the history can perpetuate misconceptions about different cultures, groups or periods, which might lead to misunderstandings and reinforce negative biases. This can ultimately create knowledge-gap, thereby preventing people from developing a nuanced understanding of historical events and their implications. For example, historians debate the duration of the Roman Empire, with estimates ranging from 2,550 to 3,000 years. Given such uncertainties, some view history as less important.

Despite this belief, in my view, looking at our past is much more significant. In doing so, we can remind our previous mistakes which were affected us negatively. Having remembered errors warns people not to make these mistakes again. This, in turn, can present us better quality of life at the expense of narrowed down the number of err. Beyond that, there are cultures and customs that mutually associated with past and without studying history, we might lose lots of them, Lessening cultural heritages and local customs do mean that the country is falling, since most countries rely on their past in an attempt to create a bright future. Thus, the role of history is much bigger than some people thought.

In conclusion, although some factors, like confusion drive the history as an unnecessary, I believe, it is nothing compared to its advantages and importance.