Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a view that history has limited educational worth, while there are those who firmly believe that the past is the key to the present. This essay will first state the reasons why history may not be the top priority for many people, followed by a discussion about the benefits of learning it.

On the one hand, no one would dispute the fact that unlike history, literacy and numeracy are the primary vital skills, which one ought to master to become fully literate. Without being able to read and write, it is impossible to obtain information, receive a decent education and become a high-quality professional in any sphere. According to the research, countries where children do not have access to basic education are bound to live in poverty and misery. Another reason why history is regarded as a worthless discipline is that many view it as a biased subject. Historic events can be presented fundamentally differently depending on the point of view and the purpose of a writer. Finally, history might be used as a tool of aggressive propaganda as it can be seen in this day and age. Nonetheless, I believe that the importance of history should not be overlooked.

On the other hand, good knowledge of history is a marker of an intellectually developed, well-rounded person. This is because history keeps records of how civilizations develop as well as how societies and institutions function. Thus, by learning history one can understand the present political situation and the origin of military conflicts. In the current world where nations are brought into close contact and the national borders are still vague, it is vital to be tolerant and woke, which is impossible without knowing history. Moreover, history teaches us to evaluate information critically, by comparing data and understanding the intentions and agenda behind various sources. For instance, one is unlikely to comprehend the roots of any current conflicts without making historic research on it. That is why history is in the list of compulsory school disciplines in all developed countries.

To conclude, although there are sound reasons why history is not the most important subject, it is still essential for overall human development.