Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is an opinion that studying history is pointless and there is nothing to learn from it. Some people share this viewpoint, while others believe differently. Personally, I lean toward the latter group’s approach. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument.

First of all, there may be some truth in assuming that the importance of the stories from the past is slightly exaggerated. There is this saying – “history is written by the victors” – and it definitely has a point. Throughout time, the history has been rewritten thousands of times and there is a question of its accuracy. Secondly, it is quite uneasy to cultivate the interest in this topic. We start learning history in school, and this experience varies from person to person, entirely depending on the teacher’s ability to integrate pupils into the subject.

However, in this day and age, we, as a society, have been proven multiple times that there is a strong correlation between the past and the present. Moreover, the concept of “the personal is political” is still more accurate than ever. By learning history, we develop the understanding of connections between various historical events, the prevailing number of which significantly reflects on today’s political climate. And even though there may be not that much that we can do to change things, being informed is our duty as social entities.

In conclusion, after considering both sides of the argument, I stick to my initial belief that studying the past history is a crucial element in getting closer to acknowledging current political issues and their impact on our lives.