Every year large number Of people migrate from one country to another for different reasons discussed the advantages and disadvantages Of migration for the individual and for society as a whole.

Having access to the internet means that majority of the world’s population have access to preview of other countries, although it might be on the other side of the globe. For that reason, the idea of moving to another country is commonly desired across the world, where some believes it is ideal for lifestyle improvement, some opt for personal and career development. This following essay will discuss the positive and negative impacts of migration for the migrants and the community as a whole.

Migration benefits both the migrants and the society as it introduce new perspectives and cultures to the world. When a person migrate, they bring along their belief, culture and tradition, this is an opportunity that not only exposes the individuals themselves to different cultures, but it fosters an exchange of ideas when it comes to putting one’s own culture to the stage. For example, indigenous groups that moved from southern part of Cambodia to Australia not only bring themselves to new learning opportunities, but they introduce their culture and origin to the community in Australia who might have never heard of their group at all.

Despite the cultural identity advantages, migration poses risks for the society in variety of opportunities. The increase rate between migrants and employment opportunities does not grow in parallel. This means that more people are in competition for the same amount of job vacancies. Additionally, excessive amount of migrants may lead to cultural identity crisis. This is clearly seen at countries like Singapore, where the number of permanent residents from other countries are increasing rapidly.

In conclusion, migration comes with its benefits and drawbacks. While individuals might introduce their cultures and identity to different places in the world, both the individuals and society may face difficulty in dividing a fair share of different opportunities.