Some people think history has nothing or little to tell us, but others think that studying the past history can help us better understand the present. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some argue that studying history does not have much to offer to our generation, while others believe that exploring and analyzing our past can give us valuable insight into understanding our present. I agree with the latter view.

Opponents of studying history often argue that exploring this subject does not have much practical value. They usually support this claim by pointing out that events that occurred decades or even centuries ago are not relevant to our realities. In fairness, today’s world is characterized by far more advanced technology and greater social tolerance, while past events unfolded in markedly different circumstances. Studying the warfare tactics of the Middle Ages, for one, could be deemed a waste of time and energy, as war tactics as well as weapons used during wars have undergone significant modifications. Given these points, the dramatic change in our environment could make a convincing case against studying history.

However, focusing solely on changing external conditions overlooks a more constant factor: human nature itself. This means lessons learned from the past can still be applied in different contexts. During WW2, the head of the USSR, Stalin, signed a non-aggression treaty with then the biggest aggressor in Europe – Hitler, completely lowering his guard against Nazi Germany. After several years, however, the USSR was taken by surprise when Germany launched a sudden attack, demonstrating that treaties are not always upheld by all nations and thereby it is not advisable to let defences down even if there is a seemingly reliable agreement in place. While it is true that the geopolitical situation was different then, the lesson is still relevant, as even in the 21st century, it is still not uncommon for countries to fail to live up to their promises or agreements. Russia launching a sneak attack into Ukraine against international laws and condemnation of the global community can serve as an example of this historic phenomenon. This shows us that history tends to repeat, and therefore studying it can help us better interpret current events and avoid mistakes of the past.

In conclusion, the view that studying history lacks any practicality puts too much emphasis on external factors, overlooking the fact that our nature is practically the same as that of our predecessors. I am, therefore, in alignment with the idea that history can still teach us a lot, helping us avoid mistakes and blunders of the generations before us.