Some people think homework is necessary for students, while others believe it should be banned. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some people consider to avoid giving homework in schools while others argue that homework is essential for children to develop effectively. I support the latter view and the reasons for my view will be discussed further.

On one side of the argument, some people hold the view that study work provided from schools to do at home is not required. This is because students already have excessive burden to study all core and other subjects. If homework was given to students, they would not be able to manage both completing daily homework given by teachers and preparation of exams simultaneously. Hence, children can get more focus on preparation of exams. Moreover, majority of time is spent by students in school. So, they are often tired after studying and to spare some leisure time is required at this age. Therefore, they can enjoy their quality time with their friends, family, and extracurricular activities which strengthens their physical and mental ability.

On the other side, I personally believe that homework is essential part of the curriculum for children’s growth. The first reason is social media and habit of procrastination. Children often lack support from their parents as there is no one to look after due to busy schedule of job by both parents. Also, they are more attracted towards social media that they are not able to pay attention for studying. However, when a specific assignment to complete at home is given to pupils as a compulsory part, they are able to concentrate and learn from the work provided to them. Ultimately, this will help them to perform better in exams. Furthermore, children often have curiosity to learn something new and interesting. For instance, when task is given to solve complex math problems at home for self-practice, children are able to think critically and fosters curiosity to solve the complex algorithms. Hence, memory power and academic growth can be achieved by students at early age.

In conclusion, although due to excessive burden of exams and engaging students in other outdoor activities is necessary, I hold my opinion to have homework in curriculum because they do not get distracted towards social media. Also, it develops critical thinking ability.