Some people think hosting major international sporting events brings a lot of advantages to a country, while others believe there are more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

International sporting events open up a door for a serious debate. Despite that some people are convinced with the pure positive side of these events, others argue that it holds several drawbacks. Both perspectives have valid arguments but, in my opinion, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay I will be illustrating these two point of view.

One perspective in favor of the negative aspect is that with the huge number of tourists that visit the concerned country, comes various problems including: more traffic in the public transport daily, increase in prices of accommodations and restaurants, and rising in complications related to alcohol such that robbery and street fights. To illustrate, I can remember how was the situation in Paris during the World Cup, the streets where full of garbage, going out at night was not safe, and of course getting on the metro was not the greatest option to get to work.

But, on the other hand, the hosting country benefits economically by growing its touristic revenues : the money spent by the visitors enhance the state economy. To illustrate , a person who watch a football match will also eat in the local restaurants, maybe visits some historical spots in the region and so on. Another crucial advantage is that sports reunite nations all over the world, it is an opportunity to set an environment of humanity and to get familiar with different cultures. An example of this, is by seeing how people prepare to their travels, they try to learn some basic of the language of the country they will be visiting so that they can live the full experience.

Finally, while there are some reasonable arguments that defend the drawbacks of these sports events, I think this has more significant positive aspect and benefits. The government should take more active role in organizing these events to confront the negative impacts that come with.