Some people think it is important to keep and maintain old buildings rather than replacing them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a many historically important and old buildings are maintained by government. Some people find it is a waste of money, moreover they believe that the buildings should be replaced with modern and useful buildings. I partially agree with this opinion, but I also think that some old structure must be kept. This essay will elaborate advantages and disadvantages of maintaining old buildings.

Despite of the fact that old structures are important and they are our history, frequently, more of them are a waste of money. As lots of money are spent for maintaining and reconstruction of them. However, they are not used like a museum and often closed. For example, The Saken Seifullin’s house in capital of Kazakhstan, Astana is maintained and spent a lot of time and money of people. But it always is closed and is not used like museum, in addition, people are beginning forgot the writer’s history.

Due to similar examples, some people think that those structures should be replaced with useful and modern buildings. As they find malls, markets, or schools more helpful and beneficial than historical buildings. For example, in Almaty the local government built a new and large library instead of the Abai Kunanbaev’s house. As a result, many people begin to study a Kazakh history and also the Abai’s history and his works.

In conclusion, obviously old buildings serve to preserve a history. However, from my point of view, if they do not serve their function of museum, they should be replaced with useful and new structures.