Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought posits that it is more essential to allocate public money to roads and motorways than to public transport systems such as railways and trams. This essay attempts to shed light on the reasons why I partly agree with this viewpoint.

On the one hand, the argument that spending public money on roads and motorways is reasonable to some extent. To commence with, when road infrastructure is being widened, it will facilitate public access in a direct manner. This is mainly because it is more convenient for residents to commute by private means of transport rather than waiting for buses and trains, which may be restricted in terms of route and schedule. Another point worth mentioning is that improving road infrastructure does not require enormous investment and sophisticated technology to build and extend roads and motorways. Therefore, it is the most appropriate approach for developing countries such as VietNam or Thailand.

On the other hand, there are a sizable number of reasons why I also believe that improving public transport systems contributes to curbing exhaust production and pollution. This can be explained when compared to a car, a bus carries more passengers on each gallon of fuel. Furthermore, allocating public money to public transportation is a feasible and radical resolution to the increasing traffic density due to overpopulation in second-world countries. Evidence can be seen in the case of underground systems in metropolitans, which have been fulfilling the demands of billions of commuters, leading to a greener environment.

In conclusion, I believe that government spending on roads, together with investing in public transportation, will provide a more holistic and effective benefit for everyone.