Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, it is hard to overstate the importance of transportation systems: they determine economic development and the standard of residents’ living. Therefore, what should and should not be spent on types of transportation is a necessary and perennial debate. Some people argue that the government should make a large investment in roads and motorways rather than public transportation systems such as railways or subways. From my perspective, I personally believe that both road infrastructure and public

transportation play crucial roles in modern society and should receive equal investment.

On the one hand, the investment in road infrastructure can bring several benefits. First and foremost, the intensification of road financial transactions can enhance the quality of roads, which can reduce the fatality rate from accidents. For example, in some megacities such as New York or Los Angeles with a high number of annual traffic accidents, the authorities fund the widening of roads and the erection of more automobile lanes, which can meet the requirements of transportation movements. As a result, it will contribute to a decline in the number of deaths resulting from accidents in urban areas. Secondly, the growth of highway density plays a significant role in the development of a country. For instance, the Vietnamese government introduced new policies for the erection of a new interstate highway system from the North to the South of Vietnam. Consequently, although some routes are under construction, main routes have been established, which reduces the amount of time to reach the intended destinations of residents. Besides, the highway systems also bring lots of revenue by giving impetus to commercial activity.

On the other hand, public transportation systems such as subways and railroads cannot be discounted altogether. While they may not be directly helpful in economic development, they indirectly make the environment less contaminated. Modes of transportation such as trams or subways, operated by electric current, so the release of carbon or nitrogen emissions will be reduced significantly. Moreover, the appearance of railways or trams will diminish the extent of traffic congestion in the foreseeable future. Thus, citizens should choose these modes of transportation as an option to move due to their convenience and safety rather than controlling their means of transport on the motorway.

In conclusion, road infrastructure should no doubt be given funding from governments, but it is equally important to invest in other modes of public transportation such as railways or trams