Some people think it is not necessary for adults to receive education in class. Self-study is a good way for them to study more effectively. To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

In today’s world, almost all adults have a chance to choose the way of studying, which, in turn, reflects on the quality of education they get. While some say that traditional way of getting education is more effective way of studying, I believe that self-study is more beneficial for several reasons.

One of these reasons is that self-study enables to organize adult’s time flexibly. Adults, studying on their own, have no time limits, which helps to save a balance between education and personal life, by letting them spend time as they want, besides studying, with family and friends. Moreover, self-study allows grown-ups to develop a personalized study plan and keep on studying on their own pace. For example, getting education in class, students have deadlines, which don’t allow to take as much time as needed, according to the one’s own pace and individual approach, causing stress and making it difficult to keep up with studies. This is only one of the reasons why I find self-learning more effective.

Apart from time flexibility, homeschooling gives an opportunity for choosing subjects of study and is free of charge. Class study doesn’t take into account students’ preferences on subjects as self-study does. Nowadays, all adults have open access to internet which covers many free materials on different topics; therefore, grown-ups can pick up what to study according to their own interests without being forced to study what they are not motivated to.

In summary, I think, self-learning is more effective way to study than conventional education, due to the benefits, like time flexibility and free subject-choice which make studying more personalized.