Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to tackle environmental issues. Others believe it is up to each individual to be environmentally responsible. Discuss both sides.

Who should take responsibility for environmental issues? Should governments take the lead and act to solve environmental problems? Or should individuals take responsibility for their choices and actions to avoid harming the environment as much as possible? By looking at both sides of this issue, this essay will aim to show that it is, in fact, individuals that can make the biggest impact on the environment and therefore should take the most responsibility.

Some people argue that governments are in the best position to deal with environmental issues. Governments have the power to make laws that prohibit businesses and individuals from taking actions that harm the environment. For example, they set legal limits for the amount of carbon emissions a company is allowed to produce. Governments also have access to funding, experts and resources that are needed to launch environmental initiatives, such as using greener fuel, and to promote environmentally friendly lifestyles among the general public.

On the other hand, avoiding environmental issues and damage before any harm occurs is something that all individual citizens and individuals in businesses have within their power to achieve. We, as individuals, can reduce our power consumption and waste production. We can choose to install solar energy for our homes and businesses, or buy electric or hybrid cars and trucks. Also, we can also avoid spraying pesticides on our gardens or fields, and disposing of dangerous chemicals into public drains and sewerage systems. Through all of these small acts, collectively, we can have a wide-reaching impact. What is more, individuals can take this action today, without having to wait for long-winded government projects to eventually get the funding and backing to actually get off the ground.

In summary, it can be argued that governments have a large responsibility for environmental issues because they hold the power and resources needed to deal with them at a leadership level. However, it is clear that individuals can have the greatest impact on the environment, so the duty must fall on them to be more environmentally responsible.