Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, the notion is that citizens’ well-being would be negatively affected when living in urban areas. Although there is environmental degradation in large cities, I believe that modern healthcare systems are provided to surpass the drawbacks of pollution.

The reason why I agree that residing in big cities is harmful to people’s well-being is that they are often susceptible to environmental contamination. To commence, almost all urban areas have a low-quality living environment primarily due to the increasing amount of hazardous emissions, such as CO2 and nitrogen, from numerous vehicles, factories, and construction sites. The problems pose a threat to individuals’ physical health since this can cause them to suffer from various medical complications like respiratory diseases, especially asthma. However, these pollution issues only affect our health in the short term and can be measured by modern facilities in large cities. Moreover, with the effective efforts of the community and stringent enforcement of the government, the level of pollution would deteriorate in the long distant future.

Another justification for my belief is that dwelling in major urban areas is advantageous for people’s welfare by offering recreational centers and healthcare systems. To begin with, the urban lifestyle provides multiple entertainment options for young adults to participate in and de-stress after long hours working or studying, hence their mental health can be enhanced. For instance, AEON malls, which include a wide range of amenities from shopping stores to game zones, provide numerous activities for people spending their spare time with family or friends. Besides, modern healthcare centers in large cities offer various services facilitating the physical health of citizens, especially for the elderly. With the advance of healthcare hubs, modern metropolises can offer proper treatments to address numerous health problems from common to chronic, such as heart attack and high blood pressure; therefore, people’s life span would be extended.

To conclude, while living in the big cities offers a hectic lifestyle and has much more pollution, the metropolitan areas grant many modern healthcare and recreational facilities for citizens’ physical and mental health. Hopefully, in the future, more policies from the government will bolster the quality of the environment to enhance people’s living conditions.