Some people think living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that urban life is detrimental to one’s health. Though the statement could be true in some circumstances, I oppose this idea due to the potential benefits that living in a big city brings to its dwellers.

First of all, city residents often benefit from the city’s medical healthcare system compared to those in remote areas. Certainly, citizens who live in a big city can have access to a variety of health care options, such as therapeutic treatment, surgery for beauty enhancement, and dentistry. Not only that, individuals who fall ill in a large city could have the option to choose between a privately funded hospital and a public one, depending on their need for treatment or doctors. Furthermore, hospitals and clinics in the city are often more well-equipped with modern facilities and medical instruments. While these features contribute heavily to many’s health in most cities, they could be well limited in remote regions.

Secondly, living in a big city not only benefits one’s physical health, but it could also improve mental health for many. According to an article on National Geographic, city dwellers’ mental well-being has improved over the last decade thanks to advancements in research, medicines, and guidance from therapists. In addition, many city infrastructures have undergone refurbishment, namely the emphasis on the expansion of green spaces such as parks or community gardens. Not only do these facilities often build community bonds, but they also encourage the city’s population to be more productive and active.

In conclusion, while it is said that leading a life in a city could be taxing on one’s health, the benefits of living in a city overshadow those beliefs. Many of those advantages could be the access to an advanced and reliable health care system or facilities that are instrumental for mental health.