Some people think mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of technology, mobile phones have become an indispensable gadget of our daily life. In this context, many people believe that phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops,… Despite some inherent benefits associated with this trend, I totally disagree with the idea that phones are not allowed in public places.

Admittedly, there are good reasons to say that phones should be allowed to be used in public areas to enable convenience for individuals. One might argue that mobile phones are annoying since they could break persons’ concentration when they need to stay focused in order to work or study by their loud sounds or bright screens. Despite that, this problem might be controllable due to the fact that we can easily turn off notifications on phones to keep it mute or silent. Mobiles not only could not disturb people but also could result in expanding our understanding about various fields within a click on a daily basis. This is predicated on the assumption that anyone who has a smartphone with access to the internet can effortlessly keep abreast to what is happening worldwide or even what an interesting book is about for instance. Thus, they could become the simple reasons to convince the public that mobile phones should not be banned in such places.

Other reasons to question the importance of mobiles are related to people’s demands for entertainment and communication. It is undeniable that nowadays people have to work severely to promote their living standard, hence entertainment after the industrious hours spent on working is of paramount importance in order to release their stress. To be more specific, listening to a variety of songs could be one of the most fruitful methods to relax and unwind, hence students on their way coming back home should follow this habit in order to immerse themselves in the sounds of such devices through the headphones, which could be a great chance for them to enjoy themselves without distracting the others. These devices concurrently are considered as the multifunctional ones since they incentivize communication between people as we might easily keep in touch with relatives or family members no matter where they live.

In conclusion, in spite of the presence of certain benefits, my strong conviction lies in the disadvantages provided by this trend to support the appearance of mobile phones in public areas in order to improve users’ experience.