Some people think news has no connection to people’s lives. Therefore, it is a waste of time to read the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a growing debate over the beneficial effects of news updating that it is no use to read the newspaper and watch news programs on television. In my perspective, I partly disagree with this argument and will analyze my points behind this phenomenon in this essay below.

To begin with, it is undeniable that there are thousands of fake news floating on the Internet every day. This is because fake news can easily get online users involved to discussions on social media like Facebook or Twitter. Therefore, many unethical journalists and content creators are always ready to fabricate false news to get more fame and attention. Of course, this situation has influenced a group of people have a harsh attitude towards consuming news as they find it negatively affects their virtual life and even on a daily basis in general, and their mental health in specific. Consequently, it is understandable that there is no need to read news as it can cause frustration to readers.

On the other hand, reading news can not be swayed away completely from citizens daily life. It can be explained that there are some topics that people need to update themselves frequently like economics, politics or financial. People choices in everyday consuming may be influenced a lot from the events happening around the world. For example, the choice of purchasing products from Starbucks and McDonalds has decreased in recent weeks due to the war that is happening at Gaza right now. As a result, consuming news is utilitarian action for people to understand what happens from around the world in order to share their voice globally to against flawed actions.

In conclusion, reading newspapers and watching news programs may be a time-consuming activities if readers cannot distinguish between real and fake news. However, I still partially disagree with this statement and believe that news still plays an important role in life.