Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn't do that as children can read books or watch TV, or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people advocate telling and reading stories for their children, but others think it is unnecessary because of the presence of alternatives such as books, TV and movies. In my opinion, while other sources may have certain advantages, I believe that storytelling by parents is even more important.

It is understandable why parents should let their children independently read books, and watch TV or movies. One of them is that parents now are deeply committed to their jobs, often working long hours or managing household responsibility, which leaves them less time to spend with their children. As a result, books and movies serve not only as ideal substitutes, but also offer some unique features such as vivid visual, sound effects, and animations that can captivate children’s attention more effectively than traditional storytelling. Another is that granting children the freedom to choose what and when to read and watch can develop the habit of self-reading. This is because when they read their preferred material of books and films, they would feel motivated, leading to a greater love for reading and learning, which is a positive influence on their future life.

However, I agree with those who believe that familial and content benefits stemming from the parental storytelling are more significant. Regarding the former, storytime can bridge the gap between parents and their kids. Although it may happen at the expense of the parent’s valuable working time, it creates the nurturing family environment, instilling in kids a sense of belonging and security. This, in turn, strengthens the emotional bond and kids are more likely to trust and love their guardians. Regarding the latter, young kids often cannot distinguish between safe and unsafe content, making it potentially dangerous for them to read on their own. If they exposured to hazardous information in a long term, they could form negative behaviours, and even affect their personality. In contrast, stories told and read by parents are typically tailored to align with their child’s developmental stage, ensuring the content is appropriate and beneficial.

To conclude, whereas it is clear that both perspectives have their own advantages, I am more inclined to support the profound and impactfull merits of parental story narration.