Some people think plastic bags should be banned. Others believe they are needed in society today. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In food market, supermarket or even clothing shops, plastic bags are being used everywhere in society today. However, not everyone is happy about using plastic bags and while some people think that they should be forbidden, I believe that they are still indispensable.

On the one hand, thanks to new ecological discoveries, people have become aware of the adverse effects that plastic bags have on the environment. In fact, due to plastic being a material that is not easily biodegradable, we can find high volume of it wasted in the ocean. This results in the health of sea creatures being affected negatively and then it reverberates later on humans’ health. This effect can be observed in recent studies that have shown that plastic residue are found in sea life after they have consumed it, hence contaminating the food chain from the bottom up.

On the other hand, while plastic bags are often seen negatively, i think they are the lesser evil compared to the new ecological solutions that have surfaced in society. First, it is important to take note that plastic bag are significantly cheaper than the newer methods of packaging like paper or bamboo bags. Moreover, they not only last longer but also reduce food safety risks. Indeed, while fabric bags are good to carry dry food, they can be quick to absorb messes, leading to undesirable odours and are a potential for bacteria growth. In contrast, by using plastic bags, the probability of such exposure can easily be negated.

To sum up, although plastic bags have some serious negative effects on the environment, the alternative methods currently available are not better health-wise. Therefore, on balance, I believe that the plastic bags are still required in today’s society.