Some people think schools should group pupils according to their academic ability, but others believe pupils with different abilities should be educated together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For some people, separating students based on their academic performances, while others argue that should mix students with different abilities to study together. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and give my own opinion

On the one hand, the benefits of studying together between good and bad students are significant. For example, when studying with good people, the bad students can ask them a lot of questions that they do not know how to solve. As a result, this can improve the academic performances of the bad ones and help high-achieving students grasp the knowledge more thoroughly. However, when the good learners are asked numerous questions by underperforming ones, they can feel annoyed. Thus, they can refuse to teach bad learners, and the underperforming students are scared to ask them any question, leading to their bad academic results.

On the other hand, dividing students according to their abilities can bring a lot of advantages for students. First and foremost, it helps the better students to access new knowledge that the average students can not solve and students who are weaker academically can review what they have learned instead of studying new, more difficult lessons. Thereby, creating a competitive environment for students to learn, making them become interested in. For teachers, this can help them create lesson plans easier, because almost all students have a quite similar level to understand this, instead of paying attention to the learning level of the entire class.

In conclusion, while mixed-ability classes are advantageous for students’ all-round development, I am still of the opinion that schools should separate students based on their academic abilities for the sake of both teachers and students.